Player Profile: Ben Geier

NeelSwamy– Sports Editor

Wrestling is widely considered to be one of the toughest sports to compete in, not only physically but mentally as well. A student, Ben Geier(JR), has demonstrated success in academics by taking four Advanced Placement courses( a rigor that is rarely seen among student athletes)and had success on the wrestling mat. Ben had taken a year break due to health conditions but has since recovered and is ready to start his season.

Q: Do you feel the need to compete highly in both academics and athletics?

A: Yes because I want to have success in both. Success is my motive and it is what I strive for in all that I do.

Q: Have there been any major changes to the wrestling program as a whole since your freshman year?

A: Not necessarily. It is mostly just new faces and wrestlers who have significantly improved since I had last seen them.

Q: Is there a specific teammate that has shaped you as a wrestler?

A: Brady Miller has had the biggest impact on me. He gave me a person to look up to as a wrestler and a goal to work towards.

Q: What motivated your return to this sport?

A: I missed the pure adrenaline rush that comes from a wrestling match. Nothing else really compares to that.

Q: How do you handle your academics and athletics?

A: I make sure that I classify them as completely different objectives. When I am wrestling and studying, respectively, each is my sole focus.

Q: Which coach has had the biggest impact on you?

A: Coach Macko. He has really singled me out and taken me under his wing and has given me valuable advice and experience that have really helped me along the way.

Have a Thought?

