Black Friday: As Told by Hooch

RachelLevin

Editor-In-Chief

I never understood it very well, Black Friday. Getting up at the crack of dawn to shop amidst hundreds of other crazed deal hunters didn’t seem like an exciting way to spend a day of my break. Clothes would be fleeting, savings would be adding up and shopping bags would be rapidly multiplying, as would my anxiety. I would be the shopper huddled in the corner in fetal position as people run back and forth yanking hangers as they go. Actually, I would probably yank one of those hangers myself and use it as defense against savage savers. As you can tell, I don’t find Black Friday fun. The only other people I can assume who dislike Black Friday more than I do are the employees who have to deal with—head on—the difficult customers, angry moms, and demanding buyers. They come prepared with pep talks, training, tool belts equipped with pepper spray, crowbars (for removing customers), and walkie talkies to call in for backup—or at least that’s how I imagine it. Do I have facts to back this up? Of course. These are the heroic stories of Hooch employees and their time served on the battlefield that is Black Friday.

Hunter Womac (SR) worked 13-and-a-half hours at Kinnucan’s on Black Friday. Kinnucans is a new store recently opened in the paradise that is Avalon mall; its merchandise is widely popular among Johns Creek teens. He said it “sucked,” and the customers at the register were beyond impatient. “The customers were terrible,” he recalls, “I was so tired by the end of it.”

Katherine Sherry (SR) was another Hooch student to work Black Friday at Kinnucans. She said “the people cared more about shopping than anything else,” the “else” probably including manners, patience, kindness, and sanity. However, she refutes the claim that it was total chaos by saying “the people weren’t as rude to me as you’d expect. They weren’t exactly nice either, though.”

Sam Latzsch (SR) had a hellish experience and he doesn’t even work in retail. Working at the Chick-Fil-A in the Northpoint mall, Sam was forced to endure throngs of determined shoppers. He recalls the experience: “First, it took me twelve minutes to find a parking spot because the mall was so packed. Then, I got into Chick-Fil-A and there were so many people working behind the counter that no one could walk around. It was like a lunch rush with no end.” According to Sam, the people were more rude than usual and there was pushing all over the place, especially by those who only wanted a refill.

Thank you for serving us, employees. You took one for the team and had to endure more than most. I hope you all have a speedy recovery and that next year you’ll be ready to get back in there. As for me, I won’t see you in action because I’ll be too busy not getting trampled and enjoying a stress-free Netflix marathon.image1

Have a Thought?

